Wednesday, March 30, 2011

[instrumentals] jazzscapez / usa

this has to be the sadest beatmaker post on my site yet.

about 1.5 months ago i became aware of a very talented beatmaker and emcee from fitchburg massachusetts. 21 years young and steadily putting out dope beats. his concept was one beat tape each month. i contacted him in february and we were ready to put out a post on crates of ag. he just finished creating his website mid march, when things took a turn to the worst– he passed away. i don't have all the specifics- but apparently he got shot by cops in his own house.

i don't wanna act as if i knew him all my life, but still- i was shocked. in my opinion he was extremly talented and would have lightened up the rap scene in his own ways. not to mention what great collaborations with other beatmakers and mc's would have been possible.

«As long as it has to do with spreading around true hip hop im all for it. Ive been at this shit for six years. Constantly elevating.»

i asked him about the mc on some of his beats.

«Yea thats me rapping. I spit too. Trying to get an album together but im a perfectionist so i always feel like i can do better haha.»

speaking of collaborations. before the tragedy happened, he hooked up with beatmaker kickback and self the bluest eye, another emcee from edmonton. kickback just sent me three tracks of them all together.

so, after all i want to take the chance to spread his works for all of you, who have not heard him yet. i offer a selection of his 3 beat tapes here, 1 remix, 3 vocal tracks by him and the 3 tracks with self the bluest eye. everything else you'll find on his page: or on his youtube-channel. what a potential...


r.i.p. jazzscapez

jazzscapez - selections [teaser]


Sunday, March 20, 2011

alkuttraz - new & limited mix

even though the vinyl market is shrinking..there's not one single month without any of the dope unreleased limited edition records from the usual suspects such as one leg up, diggers with gratitude, chopped herring, vinyl addicts, six2six, ipower, no sleep, freestyle records, solid ground, dope folks etc. i grabbed a bunch of these from the last couple of years and did a mix for you guys. 56mins! i'm sure there will be a part 2.

the tracklist should be pretty easy! this mixtape is limited to 300 downloads...


1. tragedy - death row (og version)
2. amazing maze, lord tariq & wyldbuch - my story is yours
3. constant deviants - jewelia
4. i-power - ruff draft remix
5. nas & kool g rap - fast life (buckwild remix)
6. alps cru - loudmouths
7. herb mcgruff - i keep my palm on the handle (godfather don remix)
8. freestyle professors - hot damn
9. sons of sam - it's like that
10. sparrow feat. one speaker supreme- armageddon
11. constant deviants - problem child
12. shadez of brooklyn - now a dayz
13. o.c. - outsiders
14. pudgee - get down
15. stranj child - stranj fruit
16. poison ladd s.l.r - who's the man
17. the nonce - open up
18. chief - sometime ago


Thursday, March 10, 2011

[hanDJob talks to] perv of da low livz

here we go again with another sureshot. it's da low livz from philly.

this is their debut and at the same time last release from '96. why did such a dope posse never release anything else and how come munk with da funk is spitting on «niggaz got beef»? well, hanDJob comes through with the answers. check out his interview with pervert, rapper and producer on this ep.

«Perv:   I was actually introduced to Munk by the group GNC. Corleone, who is on Niggaz Got Beef, is his younger brother and I used to talk with him and Bruce aka Little Gotti. He was from West Philly and I was North Philly. We talked here and there and I asked them all to do a track. At the time it was a Perv track that I was doing to diss various people...»

this ep contains four tracks and was released on dialect records. rappers are mersinareez, twizzler, dirty rat, pure and pervert.



big shout out to perv for taking the time and of course to my man hanDJob once again!